Get Updates

Education Minister Hekia Parata today announced two new appointments and four reappointments to the Education Council of Aotearoa New Zealand.

Established in July 2015, the Education Council is the professional organisation for teachers.

“I am pleased to make these appointments on the advice of the chair Barbara Ala’alatoa,” says Ms Parata.

“These appointments will ensure that the Education Council remains well positioned to continue to raise the status of teaching, set high professional standards and achieve financial sustainability.

“I would like to thank the outgoing members for their service, and convey my appreciation for the time and energy they have given.”

The appointments are:

Claire Amos, Auckland, reappointed 1 July 2017 - 30 June 2020

Ms Amos is the Deputy Principal at Hobsonville Point Secondary School.  She brings a strong secondary perspective and expertise in information communication technology to the Education Council. 

Simon Heath, Blenheim, reappointed 1 January 2017 - 30 June 2019

Mr Heath (Ngai Tahu) has been Principal of Renwick School since 2008 and brings strong governance skills and a South Island perspective to the Education Council. 

Ripeka Lessels, Kawerau, reappointed 1 July 2017 - 30 June 2020

Ms Lessels (Tūhoe, Ngati Awa, Te Arawa, Ngati Tūwharetoa) has extensive experience in the education sector at primary and secondary levels in English and Māori medium. 

Nicola Ngarewa, South Taranaki, appointed 1 January 2017 - 30 June 2019

Ms Ngarewa (Ngati Ruanui) is the Principal at Patea Area School.  She has a proven track record in improving educational outcomes for Māori and received a Sir Peter Blake Leadership Award as a result of her work at Tamatea High School.

Michael Rondel, Christchurch, appointed 1 January 2017 - 31 December 2019

Mr Rondel leads the Audit division at BDO Christchurch and has a particular focus on the education sector. He brings demonstrated commercial, business and financial governance expertise.

Clare Wells, Wellington, reappointed 1 January 2017 - 30 June 2019

Ms Wells has been the Chief Executive of New Zealand Kindergartens Incorporated Te Putahi Kura Puhou o Aotearoa since 2008. She has a background in education policy as well as established early childhood networks.

The Chair, Barbara Ala’alatoa, Deputy Chair, Anthony Mackay and member Helen Timperley remain on the Council until 2018.

Share this post