Bishop welcomes Hutt Valley Communities of Learning

Hutt Valley news
Wednesday, November 18, 2015

National List MP based in the Hutt Valley Chris Bishop is welcoming the formation of the first two “Communities of Learning” in the Hutt Valley, involving over 5000 Hutt students in seventeen schools.

Communities of Learning are funded through the Government’s $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative. They are designed to systematically lift the quality of teaching and learning.

Communities receive additional funding to enable teachers and principals to share expertise and best practice. Communities will collaborate to tackle achievement challenges that they identify for their kids such as maths and reading.

One community of learning has been formed in Wainuiomata, involving Arakura, Fernlea, Konini Primary, Pukeatua Primary, St Claudine Thevenet, Wainuiomata High, Wainuiomata Intermediate and Wainuiomata Primary Schools. Collectively nearly 2500 students attend these schools.

Another community of learning in Naenae/Taita involves Avalon, Belmont, Dyer Street, Pomare, St Bernadette’s, and Rata Street School, Naenae Intermediate, Naenae College, and Taita College. Collectively over 2800 students attend these schools.

“I’m really delighted that Hutt schools will now be participating in this transformative government initiative. Good teachers change lives by inspiring, motivating and challenging their students. Indeed, the quality of teaching within our schools has the biggest influence on whether students succeed or not,” says Mr Bishop.

“The schools that have joined these new communities of learning will receive additional funding to raise student achievement by improving teaching practice, enabling teachers to work together and benefit from each other’s knowledge and experience, and helping all children benefit from the skills and knowledge of great teachers from across a group of schools.

“This is great news for the Hutt Valley.”